Skip to content

To Courageous, Competent Women

September 1, 2022

Growing up, my mother was always involved with a volunteer group.

I never knew what they did, only that she was busy attending numerous meetings and frequently making dozens of phone calls.

As a boy many of those meetings took place in our home. I grew up getting to know these many women, but never what they did. They were lovely women, busy in their endeavor.

The most I knew was that they were busy fundraising to support some cause in Israel and Canada.

Her time with this group placed a responsibility on my dad.

He was a workaholic, busy with the accounting firm he led. However, he never seemed to complain when her needs superseded his own. He accommodated. With that, they got along.

Looking back, it was somewhat of an anomaly given this was during the 1950’s and 60’s, him giving way to her needs and wants.

Their relationship seemed to flow well. It was clearly loving.

If I recall any harsh words between them it would have been about his smoking. Mom sure wasn’t a fan. She concerned herself for his health. Indeed his smoking would contribute to his demise, although not the cause of death. He passed away at 60-years-of-age of an aortic rupture during surgery.

It wasn’t until later in life, I was likely in my 20’s, that I came to understand the role of the group mom held in such high regard.

The organization funded services for women and children in Israel and funded supplies for similar groups in Canada. Indeed, they supported women and children fleeing abusive situations by funding women’s shelters and daycares.

Mom has a certificate from the government from a few years ago already, honoring her for 70 years of continuous volunteer service.

At 98 she still manages the phones. Those who are still with us continue to meet and fundraise.

All are my role models of strong, courageous, competent women. That is how I see women.

I believe they still see me as that little boy.

I admire them so.

The organization, Na’amat Canada.


Are you following me on Facebook yet? If not, you are missing many more posts!

I am Gary Direnfeld and I am a social worker. Check out all my services and then call me if you need help with a personal issue, mental health concern, child behavior or relationship, divorce or separation issue or even help growing your practice. I am available in person and by video conferencing.

https://garydirenfeld.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/gary-feb-12.jpg?w=200&h=301

Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

gary@yoursocialworker.com
www.yoursocialworker.com for counseling and support

www.garydirenfeld.com – to build your successful practice

Gary Direnfeld is a social worker. Courts in Ontario, Canada, consider him an expert in social work, marital and family therapy, child development, parent-child relations and custody and access matters. Gary is the host of the TV reality show, Newlywed, Nearly Dead, former parenting columnist for the Hamilton Spectator and author of Marriage Rescue: Overcoming the ten deadly sins in failing relationships. Gary maintains a private practice in Georgina Ontario, providing a range of services for people in distress. He speaks at conferences and workshops throughout North America. He consults to mental health professionals as well as to mediators and collaborative law professionals about good practice as well as building their practice.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment