Skip to content

What’s In A Ring?

September 5, 2016

The summer was hot. I was building a deck.

I take my ring off when using tools. My hands were swollen or maybe I put on weight. I couldn’t get my ring on again. It wasn’t happening.

Except when building, I always wear my wedding ring. To me it is a symbol of my love, connection, and fidelity to my wife. It is a signal to all others, I am taken; I am not available. I wear it with pride.

ringGoing a few weeks without wearing my ring I felt exposed, undressed. I felt it was wrong of me to not be wearing a wedding band.

We spent a weekend in Ottawa to attend a wedding. At the Byward Market in Ottawa there was a vendor selling silver and stainless steel rings. I found a cheap metal band the same shape as my wedding ring. It fit, I purchased it and haven’t removed it since.

Am I old fashioned? Does wearing a ring make a difference in a relationship; in a marriage?

I don’t know what’s in a ring, but my wife took my hand after I made the purchase as we walked away from the vendor. We continued holding hands. We often do. It was just that she was holding it tighter after I placed a ring back on my finger.

By the way, it was also our 27th wedding anniversary that weekend.

I am Gary Direnfeld and I am a husband.

If you are a husband and need help improving your relationship, please check out my services and then give me a call.

Should people in a committed relationship wear a ring? Comment below and please share this blog. 

https://garydirenfeld.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/gary-feb-12.jpg?w=200&h=301

Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

gary@yoursocialworker.com
http://www.yoursocialworker.com

Facebook
Linked In
Twitter

Gary Direnfeld is a social worker. Courts in Ontario, Canada, consider him an expert in social work, marital and family therapy, child development, parent-child relations and custody and access matters. Gary is the host of the TV reality show, Newlywed, Nearly Dead, parenting columnist for the Hamilton Spectator and author of Marriage Rescue: Overcoming the ten deadly sins in failing relationships. Gary maintains a private practice in Dundas and Georgina Ontario, providing a range of services for people in distress. He speaks at conferences and workshops throughout North America.

If your relationship is faltering, then set it as your priority.

Read: Marriage Rescue: Overcoming ten deadly sins in failing relationships

2 Comments
  1. just loved it!

  2. I hardly wear my wedding band/engagement ring combo anymore because of working the farm. But I almost always wear the puzzle ring that Hubby gave me while we were still dating. Even though it is the same size, it is more forgiving for swelled fingers, and I don’t feel like I’m going to ruin it in the dirt or get it caught on tools or an animal. I like having a second option so my finger doesn’t feel naked while I work.

Leave a Reply

