Skip to content

When Does a Mother Stop Being a Mother?

August 11, 2016

It wasn’t that long ago when my mother while wagging a finger at me asked, “When does a mother stop being a mother?”

Because she had the finger out, I knew the question was serious and getting it wrong could lead to a lengthy discussion.

I answered, “Never.”

She smiled, told me I was right saying, “A mother never stops being a mother.” She then demanded I call her after I arrived home from my drive to say I arrived safely.

She’s 92. I’m 60.

She’s still my mother.

Not all children experience such a doting and caring mother. Interesting to me as a therapist, when not experienced, it is something I see longed for from childhood throughout adulthood in the people I serve.

Given a mother never stops being a mother, if you are distanced from your son or daughter, if you feel there is bad feelings between you, consider picking up the phone and calling. Express your love now, even if not having done so ever or in a long time. Ease your child’s longing regardless of their age. Give them the gift of your caring now.

By the way, this is an equal gender issue and applies to dad’s too. A dad never stops being a dad.

Let your children know you love them. Tell them, show them. Don’t believe it is too late.

I am Gary Direnfeld and I am a social worker. Please check out my services and then call me if you need help with a child behavior or relationship issue.

https://garydirenfeld.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/gary-feb-12.jpg?w=200&h=301

Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

gary@yoursocialworker.com
http://www.yoursocialworker.com

Facebook
Linked In
Twitter

Gary Direnfeld is a social worker. Courts in Ontario, Canada, consider him an expert in social work, marital and family therapy, child development, parent-child relations and custody and access matters. Gary is the host of the TV reality show, Newlywed, Nearly Dead, parenting columnist for the Hamilton Spectator and author of Marriage Rescue: Overcoming the ten deadly sins in failing relationships. Gary maintains a private practice in Dundas and Georgina Ontario, providing a range of services for people in distress. He speaks at conferences and workshops throughout North America.

If your relationship is faltering, then set it as your priority.

Read: Marriage Rescue: Overcoming ten deadly sins in failing relationships

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

