Skip to content

When Curry and Roti is More Than Just Curry and Roti

June 16, 2016

Driving through Oakville, Ontario yesterday we stopped to pick up curry and roti.

20160615_180312-1_resized

Theresa and Gary at Kori’s Roti Stop

It wasn’t the first time I had been to Kori’s Roti Stop. I have been frequenting that place several times a year whenever driving through the area. I would pick up a chicken roti for Arlene and a goat roti for myself – both medium hot because their medium is hotter than anyone else’s hot hot hot.

Theresa, who took orders and ran the cash at this busy family business knew me well enough to recognize my face and this time she did a double take.

Her sister and family are coming up from Trinidad later this month and her sister had recently raved to Theresa about a Canadian social worker whose articles she continued to read through Facebook. Her sister wondered if Theresa knew me. I was that Canadian social worker.

Small world. Theresa made the connection. It was wonderful.

I love stories like this. I love making connections. I am always pleased to hear my articles are of service throughout the world.

It seems her sister would like to get together with me to discuss family life and parenting. Apparently her sister does charitable work in Trinidad and would like to just sit and chat.

Who knows, we may get together when she is in town. If so, I hope it is at the restaurant. I can use another dose of their fabulous food.

As for the article that really took Theresa’s sister’s eye? You can read it here.

I am Gary Direnfeld and I am that Canadian social worker.

https://garydirenfeld.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/gary-feb-12.jpg?w=200&h=301

Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

gary@yoursocialworker.com
http://www.yoursocialworker.com

Facebook
Linked In
Twitter

Gary Direnfeld is a social worker. Courts in Ontario, Canada, consider him an expert in social work, marital and family therapy, child development, parent-child relations and custody and access matters. Gary is the host of the TV reality show, Newlywed, Nearly Dead, parenting columnist for the Hamilton Spectator and author of Marriage Rescue: Overcoming the ten deadly sins in failing relationships. Gary maintains a private practice in Dundas and Georgina Ontario, providing a range of services for people in distress. He speaks at conferences and workshops throughout North America.

If your relationship is faltering, then set it as your priority.

Read: Marriage Rescue: Overcoming ten deadly sins in failing relationships

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

