Skip to content

Infuriating Customer Service

April 7, 2016

For those who regularly read my posts, you know I am not one to easily get agitated. However, I have had an infuriating customer service experience with LG and I would like to share it.

My LGG4 smart phone has twice been in for repair. It fails to stay connected to the wifi, a known defect judging from all the posts about this problem on the Internet. Now again failing, I wish to receive a new phone, having twice tried to fix the current phone. Clearly this phone is defective.

LG customer service requires I send technical service reports and addresses for previous repairs. I do not have those items. Never did. I was sent packing boxes that were then either picked up by UPS or I brought to Canada Post. I did not record where they were sent. I just followed the instructions for sending with the pre-addressed boxes. While I do have one report from the second fix that says it was repaired, it does not say by who or where.

LG is requiring me to provide this information or they cannot meet my request. It seems they have devised a clever strategy to deny service on the basis of requesting the customer to provide information the customer does not have.

I recorded my last telephone call with Bob, the customer service rep supervisor. In the call you will hear his strategies for denying service while making it an outcome of me not giving him what he needs. He uses stonewalling as well as circular arguments to deny service. I think this recording is stunning in how it reveals these devious strategies.

After this call, I also had an on-line chat with another customer service rep. They sing from the same songbook. Remarkable:

Jane: Hello, Gary Direnfeld. Can I help you with anything today?
Jane: Hi
Jane: Good Morning
Jane: How may I assist you today?
Gary Direnfeld: posting to youtube momentarily.
Jane: I am sorry?
Gary Direnfeld: I have had terribe service from LG
Gary Direnfeld: I will be putting my last all to youtube momentarily
Jane: I am sorry to hear about that.
Jane: Could you please tell me more about what happened?
Gary Direnfeld: You may want to alert your supervisor in case it goes viral.
Jane: I would be upset as well if I were experiencing your situation
Gary Direnfeld: Yup. You can track my complaint with LG through my phone number.
Gary Direnfeld: xxx-xxx-xxxx (phone number)
Jane: Sure let me go ahead and check it for you
Gary Direnfeld: I am looking for a replacement phone given my phone has already been repaired twice, which means I am without a phone. This is the third time. I want a new phone. The phone was purchased in January and still does not connect to wifi. As per the complaints on the Internet, this is a known problem for these phones.
Gary Direnfeld: When my conversation with Bob the CSR supervisor goes live on Facebook – about 15 minutes for the upload, I will provide a link and I will place it on LG Facebook pages worldwide.
Jane: I am sorry for the inconvenience this must have caused
Gary Direnfeld: Sorry – should read “when it goes live on youtube…”
Jane: But our supervisor already advised you that we need to get a valid documents in order for us to send it to our Upper Management for a Review.
Gary Direnfeld: Yup – ask me to jump through hoops for things I do not have. Reiterating the impossible is ridiculous.
Gary Direnfeld: Hence my youtube post….
Gary Direnfeld: Let’s let the world know that LIFE IS NOT GOOD WITH LG.
Gary Direnfeld: Known problem. Third complaint on same phone. Time for new phone. Should be simple.
Jane: We are just asking you to get a copy of Technical Report that was done on your unit through your carrier, so we can send it for a review, just be informed Mr. Gary that WE as a Customer Service Representative and Chat Support Representative, we do not have a Power for us to replace your phone immediately, we can only send your concern and request to our Upper Management since they’re the one who is deciding on that not us.
Gary Direnfeld: Yup – and delay after delay. I recognize you have no power and it seems that the processes you have in place delay service and do not produce good results. Sad when the customer is required to jump through hoops designed to keep the customer away!
Gary Direnfeld: You realize you are just adding to he information for me to put to the Internet?
Jane: It’s still up to you Mr. Gary. At the end of the day it is still your decision.
Gary Direnfeld: Your management should be asking themselves how potential customers will respond when they read of this experience. Is customer service processes that aggravate, prolong and deny satisfaction good for business?

Please feel free to share your comments below either about what you heard or your experience with LG customer service.

I am Gary Direnfeld and I am a social worker.

https://garydirenfeld.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/gary-feb-12.jpg?w=200&h=301

Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

gary@yoursocialworker.com
http://www.yoursocialworker.com

Facebook
Linked In
Twitter

Gary Direnfeld is a social worker. Courts in Ontario, Canada, consider him an expert in social work, marital and family therapy, child development, parent-child relations and custody and access matters. Gary is the host of the TV reality show, Newlywed, Nearly Dead, parenting columnist for the Hamilton Spectator and author of Marriage Rescue: Overcoming the ten deadly sins in failing relationships. Gary maintains a private practice in Dundas and Georgina Ontario, providing a range of services for people in distress. He speaks at conferences and workshops throughout North America.

If your relationship is faltering, then set it as your priority.

Read: Marriage Rescue: Overcoming ten deadly sins in failing relationships

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Kathleen permalink

    You should have called me first! Had the same problem with a Blackberry Torch several years ago. Absolutely no one is responsible for it!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. LG Customer Service is an Experience in Gaslighting | Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW
  2. LG. The Saga Continues… | Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW
  3. Infuriating Customer Service – tb30571

Leave a Reply

