Skip to content

When Separated Parents Badmouth Each Other

January 27, 2014

If I am half of each parent, what am I if both parents convince me the other is bad?

This 2 minute video explains…

Here is another explanation by Rosalind Sedacca.

 

Gary Direnfeld, MSW, RSW

(905) 628-4847
gary@yoursocialworker.com
http://www.yoursocialworker.com

http://www.facebook.com/GaryDirenfeldSocialWorker
http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=60758978&trk=tab_pro

Gary Direnfeld is a social worker. Courts in Ontario, Canada, consider him an expert in social work, marital and family therapy, child development, parent-child relations and custody and access matters. Gary is the host of the TV reality show, Newlywed, Nearly Dead, parenting columnist for the Hamilton Spectator and author of Marriage Rescue: Overcoming the ten deadly sins in failing relationships. Gary maintains a private practice in Dundas Ontario, providing a range of services for people in distress. He speaks at conferences and workshops throughout North America.

If your relationship is faltering, then set it as your priority.

Read: Marriage Rescue: Overcoming ten deadly sins in failing relationships.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I received this enlightened comment on my youtube page:

    Please don’t limit this to separated parents as lots of married parents attack each other; it’s just more covert. A principal once said to me, “The reason your kids are so great is because they’re not products of divorce”. I said, “No, my kids are great because they have 2 parents who love them and respect each other … and by the way … we divorced years ago.” Ever seen a principal speechless? I have … LOL.

  2. I received this comment from another chat area and thought it was very enlightening:

    Gary, I just had a moment to view your video. The power of the idea that children become “hopeless” or believe what they do doesn’t matter, as a result of being taught to perceive a parent(s) as “bad” (and also that part of themselves), is great. Explains so much to me.

    When my daughter was 10, I said something not so nice about her Dad’s behavior (we had been divorced 9 years). She drew herself up and said this to me. “I’m going to tell you the same thing I told my Dad. When you say something not-nice about my Dad, that hurts me. Because I love my Dad. I don’t like to hear not-nice things from you about someone I love.” Straightened me out on the spot!

Leave a comment